you're reading...
Equine Relationships

My Horse Drew a Picture For Me

Amber's Drawing

Today when I went in to sit with my herd, Amber and Rosie were right there in my space as soon as I sat down.  The matriarch, Lady, was a few feet away, and just watched.  Both were particularly mouthy today, each licking an arm.  I had to move them out of my space quite a few times with each taking only one step back, waiting a few minutes, and then back at it again.  Today Rosie did something different though, she put her nose to mine and breathed in my breath, indicating intimacy.  That was very nice.  Rosie eventually wandered off to graze as did Lady.  That left me alone with Amber, which of course I was waiting for.

Amber did some of the usual, face to mine, muzzle to lips, but today she also lowered her head in front of me so that she wasn’t towering over me, much more intimate.  I stroked under her chin and long beautiful neck.  It was so soft. There seemed to be a lot of eye contact today as well.

That didn’t last long however as she started mouthing the bag I held in my lap.   I take it with me each time I go to sit in the pasture and I keep a notebook in it with a pen, just in case I feel the urge to write.  Today I didn’t.  She actually started grabbing the notebook with her teeth, through the bag.  So, I just went with it.  I pulled it out thinking she wanted me to write….so I sent out the question about what??….I got a tune….When I look in your eyes I get lost, I wrote those words as that was all I could remember of the song.  Then she positioned herself to the side and started mouthing the pen in my hand.  I once again went with it.  I held the bottom of the pen as I was afraid she would swallow it. She moved it around and applied pressure on the paper.  We did this for only about 5 minutes as she started applying so much pressure the pen almost cut through the paper, you can see this in the picture.  So I stopped the freestyle art in my lap and told her good job though I had no idea what in the heck it was, which I said to her!  I was laughing.  I told her none the less I was very proud of her first drawing.  I stayed for a little while longer not wanting to go in, just wishing I could live in the pasture with her today, but…alas, I am human and I had to leave!

What do you see in this drawing?  Do you see a message?  Do you see things from her environment?  Was she trying to communicate?  Or, do you just see horse play?  There are two angles to view it, the direction she was standing when she drew it which is sideways, and the drawing facing me as she drew it, which I have marked.  Comments requested!!!

About Ginger

I have been a horse breeder for 10 years however due to various circumstances, that chapter of my life has been closed. While it is a great loss, I choose to see it as a new beginning. I look forward to changing my focus on that of breeding to personal development in the world of horses. I have reduced my herd to five mature horses and a filly, just born on March 31, 2012. My goals are to work on my skills as a horse woman in a way that honors the horse and helps me to fully realize my potential in achieving so much more with my herd than is possible with traditional training methods. I have over the years experienced what many would consider, quite a few "out of the ordinary" experiences with them and it is my hope to expand on these experiences on a much deeper level. I believe we can learn so much from them as human beings and I have personally experienced joy and release on days when I really needed it, just from being in their presence. Horses help us to see who we really are in so many ways and I believe can help us improve as human beings in grace, kindness, truth, and mutual respect. This blog is about my journey and experiences as I set out to find that deeper level of connection with my herd.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “My Horse Drew a Picture For Me

  1. How Beautiful! What an amazing gift Amber gave her mommy!

    Posted by Amanda | April 26, 2012, 1:19 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Camelot Website

