you're reading...
Equine Training Excercises

Sharing Space

Dog and I have now “shared space” with my herd on about 4 separate occasions.  What I have noticed is that we are becoming much less of a novelty and I have certainly seen the relationship between dog and the herd deepen very quickly.  Amber has even given him a great back scratch which he thoroughly enjoyed. The herd is demonstrating more “herd” behavior around me now, closing their eyes, resting, and just… being, with the exception of Amber.  She is just simply a very affectionate horse.  Yesterday, and every day actually, though she seems to add a new way to express affection each time I share space with her, she placed her forehead to mine for a few minutes, rested her chin lightly on top of my head, gently scratched the top of my head with her teeth, looked me directly in my eyes close up, and just couldn’t stop being affectionate.  What can I say, I love it!

On the first day of sitting in the pasture with the foal, Dog and Mademoiselle BelleQuest became friends as well.  I will upload a short video of that encounter to You Tube in the near future.

About Ginger

I have been a horse breeder for 10 years however due to various circumstances, that chapter of my life has been closed. While it is a great loss, I choose to see it as a new beginning. I look forward to changing my focus on that of breeding to personal development in the world of horses. I have reduced my herd to five mature horses and a filly, just born on March 31, 2012. My goals are to work on my skills as a horse woman in a way that honors the horse and helps me to fully realize my potential in achieving so much more with my herd than is possible with traditional training methods. I have over the years experienced what many would consider, quite a few "out of the ordinary" experiences with them and it is my hope to expand on these experiences on a much deeper level. I believe we can learn so much from them as human beings and I have personally experienced joy and release on days when I really needed it, just from being in their presence. Horses help us to see who we really are in so many ways and I believe can help us improve as human beings in grace, kindness, truth, and mutual respect. This blog is about my journey and experiences as I set out to find that deeper level of connection with my herd.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Sharing Space

  1. Ginger, I totally enjoyed your message today and I have been doing that myself a couple of years… Smokey and Magic are so relaxing to watch and…”Share space with”! I watch them graze, eat their dinner, take videos of their playful days. I have days where I’m so close to God and I need that. I also have days where I’m so close to the horses and I need that too… Dale rides Smokey and Magic bareback every day and they are doing amazing! I entertain them with kisses, ear scratches and just support her in something we both love so much. I can’t ride now because of my shoulder pain, but it doesn’t stop me from “being” with them every day. Thank you for sharing and God bless! David

    Posted by David | April 17, 2012, 5:37 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Camelot Website

